My Profile
Older
E-mail
D*Land
Diary Rings

Gift from Hil Part 2 - 2014-12-30
A Gift from Hil - 2014-12-28
There was A LOT of turkey. - 2014-12-04
Can we just jump to January please? - 2014-11-14
A (don't kick the) Bucket List - 2014-10-28

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

9:35 a.m. - 2010-06-17
Bug Talk

Yesterday was a big old ball of stress. Fortunately very little of it was domestically generated so home was a haven from a world determined to thwart me. Which it succeeded at very well yesterday. But by 7:00pm I was home, here safe in my chair, Bejeweled on the screen, Vivaldi in my ears, and a cup of Tension Tamer working its subtle magic. Eventually wandered upstairs and found Mick engrossed in a Billy The Exterminator marathon. I'd not seen this show before. Thought it was over-simplified as to be almost Disney-esque. Okay Disney by Tim Burton via Hot Topic with a hearty endorsement from the 'Louisiana is For Pestilence' tourism board. But Billy seems like a decent guy and for an exterminator very kind and environmentally friendly. The thing that really got me was Billy's bizarre unnecessary amplifications when he described stuff. For example: 'a spider infested island surrounded by water'. Really? As opposed to those islands that only have water on two sides? 'This spray is fatally deadly to wasps.' Well that's good, you certainly don't want to be using a spray that's only 'mildly annoyingly deadly' or 'partially fatal'. Pisses the wasps right the hell off that does.

Reminded me of cop-speak. That bogus biggety way cops talk which gives me a wicked case of the smirks every time I see some badged bobo with his $8.00 haircut in his ill-fitting polyester detective suit being all hurrumphy and important for the news cameras.

"The subject in question exited the vehicle from the operator's compartment and assumed a semi-upright posture with his limbs extended in a significantly unthreatening position in close proximity to the vehicle's anterior and awaited further directions from the officers on the scene."

Rightie-o. Would it have been less official if he said, "The guy got out of his car and bent over the trunk with his hands out like he was told to."??? C'mon, dude, a year of junior college and 3 months at the county police academy doesn't make you an Oxford don. Cut the flummery and speak plainly. Nobody is impressed with your vocabulary. You sound like a jerk.

Mick occasionally lapses into cop-speak when he tells me about some incident at school and I twit him unmercifully about it. "'The perpetrator'? Wow, you had an actual 'perpetrator' at school today? Were there any 'malefactors'? You know I loves me some 'malefactors'. Especially if I can 'establish a rapport' with them."

Yes, I am mean. Sue me.

Well, I just got off the phone with Albany and it looks like one snafu has been cleared up. One down, 14 to go. Sigh�

So I'm outta here to once again tilt my lance at the windmill that is the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles.


Wish me luck. ~LA

4 Wanna talk about it!

previous // next