My Profile
Older
E-mail
D*Land
Diary Rings

Gift from Hil Part 2 - 2014-12-30
A Gift from Hil - 2014-12-28
There was A LOT of turkey. - 2014-12-04
Can we just jump to January please? - 2014-11-14
A (don't kick the) Bucket List - 2014-10-28

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

11:39 a.m. - 2011-09-08
Stays Crispy in Milk

CELLAR FLOOD!!!!!!!!!

Again. Sigh�

Schools are closed. The fire whistle keeps going off to call the guys in so they can go pump out another basement. ('basement'? Mick's wearing off on me.) Ours is swamped again, though nowhere near like last time. The floor drain is keeping up with most of it, but the root cellar (dim cavern behind the actual cellar) is filling up. Mick's bailing. Not as in disappearing from the scene, but actual bailing. With a pail.

But for the nonce we have electricity and it's finally stopped raining. Could be worse.

Anyway, thanks for the encouragement yesterday. That entry came out a lot droopier than I felt. I was more shocked than anything else. It feels like there should be some kind of hoop-dee-doo left. A Big Day. Something that needs an event dress and flowers. To discover I'd run straight past all of them and now it's too late, all the events are over, well, it was startling. I don't know, some part of me will always be waiting for the prom, I guess.

There's always been reasons, circumstances that smacked up against the events and made it hard or even impossible to go. But it's been my choice, I chose to opt out. Whether it was to keep the peace or the money needed to go elsewhere I've been the one who ultimately pulls the plug. Always doing the practical thing. And I'm more than a little ticked off that I've 'practical thing-ed' myself out of all of it. Everything. I've been a dumb ass.

And of course Mick will acknowledge my 50th. It just won't be with a party. He's been gagging to get me a diamond tennis bracelet since ever and I've been refusing, saying it could wait until my 50th. (See? How very practical of me.) The man is besotted, five years in and he's still evolving, still working on being the best husband he can be because it's that important to him. How cool is this? In all other ways he's a terrific husband. But Mr Party Pants he's never going to be. And it gets to me sometimes. That's all.

I'm a social animal and pleasant things like barbeques and the Mini-dunk Hoedown and parties, they refresh me. And they balance off the unpleasant outings. As it is the majority of the time when I leave the house it's because of a problem or there's a doctor's appointment, a school meeting, nasty crud like that. It'd be nice to get fixed up and go someplace besides the DMV and Home Depot, you know? Interact with someone who wasn't a cashier or a dental hygienist. Doing their jobs, I mean. I'd totally party with dental hygienists, a bottle of tequila later and women who are that good with pointy tools could get up to a whole lot of mischief. To say nothing of their expertise with dental floss.

So anyway, that's where I'm at. Maybe a little bummed in a 'Rainy Days and Mondays' sort of way, but mostly okay. And I'll admit it, I'm jealous of SIL's party. Something which is exacerbated by SIL's two full blown weddings with country club receptions with a band and a DJ both times. My eyes aren't just green from pigment lately. I'm having quite the tussle with event envy at the 'mo. It'll pass. Life's too short to endlessly chew my heart out over other people's orchids and Vera Wang. Like Iona's friend who would sometimes stop and check her kids, her keys, her pockets, dead sure something was missing. And nothing was. She decided it was side-effects from skipping the prom. So you can imagine the trauma here, so far Ms Practical has skipped everything. This explains a lot, doesn't it? Whew! Nice to have that settled.


Tea. I want tea, cinnamon toast, and a hug. Fortunately these are all on hand. ~LA


4 Wanna talk about it!

previous // next