My Profile
Older
E-mail
D*Land
Diary Rings

Gift from Hil Part 2 - 2014-12-30
A Gift from Hil - 2014-12-28
There was A LOT of turkey. - 2014-12-04
Can we just jump to January please? - 2014-11-14
A (don't kick the) Bucket List - 2014-10-28

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

8:51 p.m. - 2011-05-07
It Was a Very Good Year.

I thought this was kind of cool. HERE. The most amusing thing to me was finding out I was born the same year Valium was invented. There's a cosmic connection there, but I refuse to look at it too closely. Of course any time my birth year comes up it's always all about Kennedy's assassination. The anniversary of which is now also my wedding anniversary, fun, no?

So I found that page interesting because along with the Valium thing, it was good to know some other stuff happened too. Because really how often can anybody stand hearing, "Oh, 1963? Well, some crackpot future blogger was born in January and then absolutely nothing else happened until November when they made Kennedy dead."

Also interesting to me (and no one else) is that my ex-BIL was born only 4 days after I was yet you never saw two people more opposed in their attitudes and lifestyles. Not about everything, we're both atheists and Democrats. (Oooo! Godless Liberals! Be afraid!) But ex-BIL is anal in the extreme, he's as rigid as an ironing board and his fashion sense is limited to matching his pocket protectors with his belt. Abstemious as a parson, the kind of humorless nerdy engineer they base all those engineer jokes on, and has the sparkling wit of a brick. So how could this guy and I share anything related to the timing of our births? Aha! Turns out I was born in the Year of the Tiger and he was born in the Year of the Rabbit. The Chinese New Year fell neatly between our birthdays that year. Everything kind of fell into place when I found this out. Fellow Aquarians we might be, but even with that in the four days between us the stars shifted around and while I was born in the House of Dior, he was born in the House of Dork.

I didn't find out about the Tiger/Rabbit thing just now, I'd been curious enough to look it up a long time ago.

TIGER is the third sign of the lunar calendar.
I am a delightful paradox. The entire world is my stage. I set new trails ablaze; I seek the unattainable, and try the untried. I dance to life's music in gay abandon. Come with me on my carousel rides. See the myriad of colors, the flickering lights. All hail the unparalleled performer, me.
Symbolizes power, passion and daring
A rebellious, colorful and unpredictable character, commanding awe and respect from all quarters
Impulsive and vivacious, restless and reckless. Loves being the center of attention.
Has humanitarian instincts, loves babies, endangered species
Whatever the current object of adulation is, everything else will take second place
The tiger can be aspiring and adventurous, trusting their own luck and charisma to see them through tough times and eventually bring successes
Female tigers are fashion conscious, articulate and liberated
May have large ego, but romantic at heart

Whereas Rabbits are good solid people who work hard and are persistent little devils. Not much for frolicking, those Rabbit people. Goodness knows they are far more useful than us Tigers, but still I always knew the ex-BIL and I were so different for a reason. And, hey, Chinese astrology makes a good an explanation as any.

A good explanation for the wicked case of heartburn I'm nursing right now is overdosing on fish planks today at Long John Silver's. Just can't do the deep fried food anymore without paying for it. Which really sucks because I'll eat just about anything if you dip it in batter and deep fry it. Seriously. I'll eat old sneakers if they're batter-dipped and deep fried. Offer me tempura and I'll follow you anywhere. A good batch of beer batter onion rings and I'll help you move a couch. And a piano too if the onions are vidalias.

I honestly thought that thing with old people and their touchy digestion was bullshit. Something to bitch and talk about because they didn't have much sex anymore. Gave 'em something to do, you know? After dinner the coots would sit around burping and kneading their mid-sections and asking for bicarb while the young folk sloped off to get nekkid and sweaty somewhere.

Nope. Not myth. Not bullshit. And definitely not a substitute for sex. I do grease and I'm scrabbling around for Tums. Today's lunch was worth it though. Soooo yummy. And because it's fish it means it's technically 'healthy' and thus guilt-free. So what it's 5 zillion calories of greasy breading, it's fish. I'm doing my heart a favor. (*snort*)

"I don't know anyone who could get through the day without two or three juicy rationalizations. They're more important than sex."
"Ah, come on. Nothing's more important than sex."
"Oh yeah? Ever gone a week without a rationalization?"- 'The Big Chill'

Nope. But a day can include rationalizations, fish planks, and wall shaking sex.


Just sayin'. ~LA


5 Wanna talk about it!

previous // next