My Profile
Older
E-mail
D*Land
Diary Rings

Gift from Hil Part 2 - 2014-12-30
A Gift from Hil - 2014-12-28
There was A LOT of turkey. - 2014-12-04
Can we just jump to January please? - 2014-11-14
A (don't kick the) Bucket List - 2014-10-28

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

1:18 a.m. - 2010-10-03
Puma Song

I walk with my strong shoes
Their soles soft thudding
On the floor.

I have had strong shoes before
But not quite like these.

The high boots with the wicked heels
Those were shoes to show my strength
To the world.

The flat black cloth shoes, those Mao slippers,
Peasant feet.
They were to be strong against
My mother's Ferragamos.

The six-inch wedgies I did the Hustle in?
To dance defiance to the men
Who wanted me short.

These strong shoes
Are just for me.

I don't care, or even think
About what they might say
To anyone else.

These strong shoes
Are for me to be strong, finally,
For myself.

I walk with my strong shoes
Their soles soft thudding
On the floor.

And I run.
I run in my strong shoes.
Not away or to please
Or to defy.

I run for me.
Just for me.

6 Wanna talk about it!

previous // next